Traffic Tickets and Class C Misdemeanors
Here at Earl Spielman & Associates L.L.C., we will work with you to protect your driving record. Doing so can also aid in protecting you from higher insurance rates and enabling you to retain your driving privileges.
We can help lift warrants for your arrest related to traffic tickets and other Class C misdemeanors.
- FMFR (Insurance)
- Red Light
- Stop Sign
- Seat Belt
- Failure to Appear
- Speeding in a School Zone
- Trucking Violations
- Housing Code Violations
- And Other Moving and Non-Moving Violations
- Restaurant Violations
- Other Class C Misdemeanors including Theft, Assault, MIP, DUI, Disorderly Conduct and Public Intoxication
- Jury trials and non-jury trials
- Motions to dismiss
- Plea bargains with Prosecutors
- Motions to suppress
Earl Spielman & Associates L.L.C. has represented individuals across the State of Texas in municipal courts, justice of the peace courts and county courts. We handle cases throughout Texas.
Everyone would prefer to avoid getting a traffic ticket, for a variety of reasons. It is also possible, depending on the infraction and how many you've had before, that getting a traffic ticket might increase your insurance rates when the court notifies the Driver License Division and the citation appears on your driving record.
Worse yet, if the ticket pushes you over one of Texas' point limits, it could also usher in a long period of annual fines called surcharges.
Once you have been ticketed, you have 10 days to decide how to respond to it (by paying the fine or by appearing in court). The responsibility for telling the court what you are going to do is yours, you must contact them. (They've already contacted you, in a way, by issuing the ticket).
You may then have the option of attending a defensive driving safety class to dismiss the ticket. If you're found guilty of going above 95 mph, however, you're out of luck, you will not be able to take the class for ticket dismissal.
For serious violations, or violations that may put you over the point limit, you may want to contact an attorney who specializes in traffic cases.
The basic point system in Texas is simple:
- Any moving violation: 2 points
- Any moving violation resulting in an accident: 3 points
If you accumulate six points on your license, be prepared to pay a violation surcharge (see below).
Texas employs a unique penalty system called the Driver Responsibility Program for those whose moving violations are particularly egregious (or frequent). The basis for this program is a series of annual fines, also called surcharges, for those guilty of these offenses.
What Texas calls "surchargeable violations" are typically the kinds of transgressions that constitute crimes, such as DWI, driving without insurance, or driving without a license. If you go through the court system, it's probably a surchargeable violation.
A surchargeable violation will result in you paying a substantial additional fine annually for several years. These extra penalties can be from $100 each year to a whopping $2,000 per year for three years. Since the additional penalties can add up to $6,000 total, you may want to discuss these cases with a lawyer.
Other violations can also result in you paying these surcharges, if you get enough tickets. If you have six or more points riding against your driver's license, you'll pay $100 a year extra for the first six points and $25 for each additional point after six. Yes, for three years.
Remember, these surcharges are in addition to the fine you had to pay for the ticket in the first place.
Habitual violators are drivers who have accumulated four moving violations in a 12-month period or seven moving violations in a 24-month period. You can look forward to your license being suspended if you get this many citations.
Beyond that, since moving violations earn either two or three points each, a habitual violator would be way over the six-point limit needed to trigger a Driver Responsibility Program surcharge. In other words, you'll be hit with hefty annual surcharges even while you're not allowed to drive.